motherhood / Reblogged

“Motherhood Is the Strongest Bond”

So this is why I get all emotional at soppy TV adverts and sad news stories… I’m a mum.

A really powerful article that really is spot on.

Motherhood Is the Strongest Bond

The Most Powerful Thing You Can Say to Another Mom


Describing the time only as her worst nightmare, she said to me with tears rolling down her face, “You’re a mom, you know.”

You’re a mom, you know.

This phrase took my breath away — as well as any composure that I had managed to keep together up until then. Because it was at that point, with that phrase, that I was able to start to understand the magnitude of her sorrow. Sure, I was completely heartbroken for her before, as death is difficult for anyone. But I’ll admit that I didn’t fully understand my role as her friend or as a fellow mom. See, all this time I had been looking in the wrong places for the perfect thing to say to her while I should have just looked at our simplest bond: motherhood. And while I have not experienced the pain that comes along with losing a child, I do understand the joy that she once experienced from holding her child. And to lose that? There are no words

Except maybe “I’m a mom, I know.”

Read full article

http://www.popsugar.com/moms/Motherhood-Strongest-Bond-36728831?utm_source=scarymommy.com&utm_medium=referral&utm_campaign=pubexchange_facebook

Leave a Reply

